RSS Feed

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

©2019, Nu Music Group Inc.


December 24, 2017


Last year, three days before Christmas, Chicago artists Chance the Rapper and Jeremih dropped Merry Christmas Lil’ Mama, a melodic and light-hearted joint Christmas mixtape filled with hope and joy. Chance recently announced they would be re-releasing it along with additional songs. A few weeks later, the mixtape is now available!


Titled “Merry Christmas Lil’ Mama: Re-Wrapped”, the record includes nine new songs and a piano version of 'Strange at the Table' featured on last year's version of the project. The mixtape also includes drumming contributions from fellow Chicagoan Common and Master of None's Lena Waithe plus some funny commentary from comedian Hannibal Buress.


The mixtape is warm, cozy, and playful. What the new songs have most in common with their forebear is a feeling of sincerity. It is just another truly ground-up collaboration between Chance and Jeremih as the two artists are in perfect symbiosis on the album. The production, featuring midtempo beats, flapping drums and muted bass drops, is perfectly crafted for their lyrical hooks.


Hurry up and download/stream "Merry Christmas Lil' Mama Re-Wrapped" ASAP! It will probably be on heavy rotation in a lot of houses this Holiday season.


“Merry Christmas Lil’ Mama: Re-Wrapped” tracklist:


Disc One

1. All the Way
2. Snowed In
3. Stranger at the Table
4. Joy
5. I’m Your Santa
6. Shoulda Left You
7. The Tragedy
8. Chi Town Christmas
9. Merry Christmas Lil’ Mama



Disc Two

1. Down With That
2. Lil’ Bit
3. Held It Down
4. Big Kid Again
5. Let It Snow
6. Family For
7. Ms. Parker
8. One More Cry
9. Are U Live
10. Stranger at the Table (Piano Remix)



Please reload

the archive

It's not that often that I find acoustic songs completely fulfilling. Prom Queen Crown by Rallie and Coal however has all the needed elements. Captivating chord progressions, beautiful vocals and subtle progression to provide expanding elements.

Rallie & Coal are an art...

Not only is the song concept very ironically relatable to this rising generation, but this production is incredibly refreshing. From the chord progression to the balance of nostalgic and modern synths, quirky percussion and of course Anna's angelic vocal tone. And she'...

screen grab from music video 

It is always refreshing to see an artist using art and their platform to an end greater than themselves. With “Our Planet,” Chris Webby and Bria Lee seek to do just that. Their take on climate change activism is more than mere environmental...

Brooklyn Semhar waxes melancholic and laments a family divided on “Daddy.” This track is a smouldering, slow-burning groove that pulls itself along with all the moodiness of its subject matter. It is arranged beautifully, and reflects a refreshing jazz influence in its...

Canadian singer-songwriter Kiesza is back! After the enormous popularity of her 2014 house-pop single ‘Hideaway’, she went on collaborate with a stunning array of famous names. Names like Skrillex, Diplo, and Duran Duran, to name a few. Tragically, her career was put o...

Payson Lewis has released an anthemic new single called “Nothing To You”, and it’s really good! Payson has had a diverse career, singing with national orchestras, starring in theatrical performances, acting on TV shows, and now it seems his talent has been channelled i...

Please reload

Listen to Top Music from the Toronto Music Scene on Spotify